top of page

The New York Game Awards Nominees announced

Due to concerns over COVID-19, the organizers for the event have decided to make it a virtual one, and also have confirmed all the nominees for the award show. The event will be held virtually, for one day only on February 2nd, 2022 on their Twitch channel. The organization will also be contacting ticket- holders for their refunds for the previously planned in-person show. People can still donate to the organization to show their support.

The NYVGCC, is a nonprofit organization that promotes awareness and education for video games, writing, and journalism in the New York City area. They host the annual award program every year to celebrate the industry and its creators from the past year. They also do it to celebrate the students that the organization mentors along with their scholarship programs.

Listed below are all the Nominees for the 11th Annual Award Show this year.

  • Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year:

    • Chicory: A Colorful Tale

    • Deathloop

    • Dorfromantik

    • Halo Infinite

    • Life Is Strange: True Colors

    • Metroid Dread

    • Psychonauts 2

    • Resident Evil: Village

  • Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game:

    • Before I forget

    • Chicory: A Colorful Tale

    • Death’s Door

    • ENDER LILIES: Quietus of the Knights

    • Genesis Noir

    • Little Nightmares 2

    • Sable

    • Wildermyth

  • Herman Melville Award for Best Writing in a Game:

    • Chicken Police – Paint It Red

    • Life Is Strange: True Colors

    • Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy

    • Persona 5 Strikers

    • Psychonauts 2

    • Resident Evil: Village

    • Strangeland

  • Statue of Liberty Award for Best World:

    • Chicory: A Colorful Tale

    • Chicken Police – Paint it Red

    • Exo One

    • Far Cry 6

    • Monster Hunter Rise

    • Psychonauts 2

    • Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart

    • Resident Evil: Village

  • Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game:

    • Chicory: A Colorful Tale

    • Everhood

    • Far Cry 6 – Pedro Bromfman

    • Genesis Noir

    • Life Is Strange: True Colors

    • NBA 2K 22

    • Sable

  • Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game:

    • Erika Mori – Alex Chen – Life Is Strange – True Colors

    • Giancarlo Esposito – Far Cry 6

    • Maggie Robertson – Lady Dimitrescu – Resident Evil VIllage

    • Michael Mando as Vass Montengro – Vass Insanity, Far Cry 6

    • Ozioma Akagha as Julianna Blake in Deathloop

    • Sera-Lys McArthur as Thunderbird, North Star Rainbow Six Siege

  • Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game:

    • Floor Plan 2

    • Mare – Quest

    • Ragnarock

    • Resident Evil 4

    • Star Wars Pinball VR

    • Traffic Jams

  • Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game:

    • Bowser’s Fury

    • Chicory: A Colorful Tale

    • Death’s Door

    • Kena: Bridge of Spirits

    • Miitopia

    • Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart

  • A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game:

    • Fantasian

    • Crash on the Run

    • Marvel Future Revolution

    • NieR Re[in]carnation

    • Pikmin Bloom

    • Queen Rock Tour

    • Zombie Rollerz: Pinball Heroes

  • Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake:

    • The Great Ace Attorney Chronicles

    • Mass Effect Legendary Edition

    • Pokemon Brilliant Diamond and Shining Pearl

    • Resident Evil 4 VR

    • Shadow Man Remastered

    • Super Mario 3D World

  • Captain Award for Best Esports Team:

    • Atlanta FaZe Clan (Call of Duty League)

    • Edward Gaming (League of Legends)

    • Natus Vincere (a.k.a. Na’Vi) (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive):

    • Team Spirit (Dota 2)

  • Joltin’ Joe Award for Best Esports Player of the Year:

    • Chris “Simp” Lehr (Call of Duty for Atlanta FaZe)

    • Genki “Gen” Kumisaka (Tekken 7 for Donuts USG)

    • Lee “Scout” Ye-chan (League of Legends for Edward Gaming)

    • Oleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev (Counter-Strike: Global Offensive for Natus Vincere)

    • Tyson “TenZ” Ngo (Valorant for Sentinels)

    • Xin “Leave” Huang (Overwatch League for Chengdu Hunters)

  • Knickerbocker Award for Best Games Journalism:

    • Rebekah Valentine – Investigative reporting

    • People Make Games – Video Series

    • Megan Farokhmanesh – Investigative reporting

    • Zoya Street – Essay

    • Renata Price – Reviews

    • Kirsten Grind, Ben Fritz, and Sarah E. Needleman – Activision/Kotick Investigations

Donate/Check out the organization Below:



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page